To be legally married there are a few things that you need to do! You can't just get married and think it will be legal, you need to obtain and file the proper paperwork. For today's Wedding Wednesday, you can learn about the steps that you need to take to make sure you are legally married in Indiana. If you aren't located in Indiana, then you will want to check out the laws for your state or country.
Make Sure You Are Eligible To Be Married In Indiana
You both need to be 18 years of age or older. If you are younger than 18, you need to obtain your parent's consent or have a court order granting permission. You can not be more closely related than second cousins (unless you are at least 65 years old, then you may be first cousins). You also need to either reside in Indiana or be getting married in Indiana.
Apply For Your Marriage License No Earlier Than 60 Days Before Your Wedding Date
Marriage licenses in Indiana are only valid for 60 days so you must marry and file your license within 60 days of obtaining.
Things To Take With You When You Apply For Your Marriage License
- Both you and your fiancé must be present to obtain a marriage license.
- Identification (bring one of the following): valid drivers license, passport, birth certificate
- Your Social Security Number (you do not need the actual card).
- Dates Of Any Previous Marriages (date marriage ended and certified copy of divorce decree).
- Your Parent's Information (full names, last known addresses, birthplaces).
- Marriage License Fee In Cash (fee ranges from $18-$60 depending on your circumstances).
- Completed Application (you can complete that online HERE or at the clerk's office).
You will be denied a marriage license if any of the following are true.
- You are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- You have been judged to not be of sound mind.
- You are not located in Indiana or having your wedding in Indiana
- You are more closely related than second cousins, unless you are over 65.
- You are under 18, unless you have special permission.
You Can Legally Be Married By The Following
- Clerk Of The Circuit Court
- Clerk or Clerk-Treasurer Of A City/Town
- Lieutenant Governor
- Members Of The General Assembly
- Anyone Who Has Been Ordained
You Must Turn In Your Marriage License Within 30 Days Of The Ceremony
After your wedding, make sure you turn in your marriage license before 30 days passes. If it is not recorded within this time frame, then you must re-apply and pay for a new marriage license.